Locking a User 

Locking a user allows the auctioneer to prevent a problem user from logging into their site.

Note: A user's account will be automatically locked if they enter an incorrect password 10 times. (This does not reset if they refresh/go to a different page/try another day etc. There are 10 attempts in total before the account is locked.) The user may be unaware that they are locked out but this shows on their account as follows: 


  • If a user is already registered to an auction and is logged in, they will still be able to bid on that auction. To stop the user from bidding, you must Suspend the user from the auction, as shown below: 


  • If a user is already logged in when their account is locked, they will not be able to register for any auctions. They will see the following error: 

 


  •  The user will not be automatically logged out of their account when it is locked. When the user logs out, the lock then prevent them from logging back in. 


Steps to follow for Locking an account:

  • Log into the administration area
  • Select Users & Groups > Users from the drop down menu 
  • View the user
  • Click on the username
  • Select the Edit tab 
  • Tick the Account Locked? box
  • In the box that appears type in the reason why you are locking the user
  • Click Save
  • The user has now been locked
  • To Unlock the user follow the same steps but untick the Account Locked? box and Save


Note: A user will be able to change their password when their account is locked, but will still be unable to access their account.



Unlocking a User

A user's account will be locked if they enter an incorrect password 10 times. This count is not reset, even if the user navigates away/refreshes the page/tries another day, etc. 

Note: A user will be able to change their password when their account is locked, but will still be unable to access their account. 

A user's account can also be locked to prevent them logging in again


How to Unlock a User's Account

  • Login to Admin
  • Find the User
  • Click on the user's username 

  • Click the Edit tab 
  • Untick the Account locked? tickbox 
  • Press Save


Note: The user is not notified of the change automatically - you will need to let them know they can now access their account. The password will be unchanged, however, if they have had trouble logging it, it may be beneficial to prompt them to change their password.